Holiday Greeting

Happy Holidays, Reader.

Now, to those of you who get upset about saying “happy holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas”, I will point out that there are many other religions practiced in our country, and around the world besides Christianity. There are several religious holidays that occur this time of year. I celebrate Christmas, however I do know people who celebrate other deeply spiritual holidays, and just because our beliefs differ doesn’t mean I wish them any less peace, joy, and love. Oh, and BTW that “happy holidays” induces New Year, just in case I don’t see you.

People really get in a tizzy about how you phrase your well wishes during the month of December, and that upsets me. I just wished you good will, don’t criticize the form. You are not going to suddenly forget Jesus because I didn’t mention him by name. And if you want to wish me a Merry Christmas, I will say it back, right after saying “thank you.” There is enough cruelty and ugliness in the world people, lets not attach it to the one nice thing we say to one another that breaches our differences.

Sorry, I know I got all preachy and political on your for a spell there, but I’m done now.

Leave a Reply

