New Year, New Project(s)

It is a new year, a new beginning. A new chance to start fresh and do things better. We resolve to do the things we’ve put off, and be the person we want to be. It’s a lovely thought. In the spirit of the season I have made a resolution to post to my blog more consistently. So, for the year of 2015 I will strive to create a new post every Tuesday and Friday.

We all know how woefully inconsistent I have been, but I am going to do my best to change that.

So my first post will be about the projects I am currently juggling.

First is my gnome children’s book that is more or less done being written. I keep putting it off because I am creating all the artwork myself using miniatures, and frankly it is a huge undertaking. I’m still creating half the props (if that is what you would call them). I moved houses right as I was beginning this project, and I shelved it because it was too hard to work on while moving. Picking it back up has been a slow process, because I have been pretty distracted by everything else going on in my own brain.

Next is Fayling, an urban fantasy novel I am writing about my own version of the Fay folk.  This particular book is near and dear to my heart. I have written, re-written, started over, scrapped, and written again on this project for a few years now. It means a lot to me, and I don’t want it to see the light of day until it is just perfect. I have a pretty good outline going, but when I feel a little stuck I will set it down and come back to it again when inspiration strikes. About a third of it is complete.

Then there is a new project that I started about a minute after I published Tilted Tales. It is still in the concept stage, but I am on a good track. This one will be a sort of encyclopedia of the monsters and fairies that rattle around inside my head. Some are based of legends and stories I was told as a child, while others are just plain imagined into existence. I will update you more on this one as the idea solidifies.

And finally the one I am most excited about (at the moment). In Tilted Tales, I wrote an epic poem about six witch sisters. I have received very positive feedback on this poem, so much so that I decided to create a  novel version. The title of the poem is Six Sisters. I have not picked a title for the novel yet, but there are a few bouncing around my head. I’ll let you know when I settle on one. I have written a thorough and complete outline for this book, and I am aiming at an august publication. I am thinking of trying to get this one traditionally published, but if I can’t get an agent/publisher to bite, then I will continue on with CreateSpace.

As you can see, I have plenty to keep my busy this year, wish me luck!

As always, Happy writing.

One thought on “New Year, New Project(s)

  1. I may be a bit biased, being your husband and all, but I still would like to say just how proud I am about your work thus far. Tilted Tales is quite hilarious, and has brought many chuckles to our friends and family. Your work on Fayling has been both difficult and trying, but also rewarding. I truly cannot wait until you finish that book and show the world just how screwed Jeremy is.
    I also look forward to your other books, and will gladly support you always in these endeavors.

Leave a Reply

